Banana Skippycoin ICG




Community, Business and Visitor Guide

Banana Visitor Information

Shire of Banana

Situated along the Capricorn Coast, the Shire of Banana is a Local Government Area within the Central Queensland Region, approximately 459 kilometres north-west of Brisbane, the state capital. The LGA is sparsely populated with its estimated population of 15,597 residents over a 15,755.6-square-kilometre area. Its main industries include beef production, coal mining, dryland cropping, irrigation cropping, and power generation.

The Shire of Banana was first established as the Banana Divisional Board in November 1879 under the Divisional Boards Act of 1879, becoming a shire in March 1903 following the passage of the Local Authorities Act of 1902. Following recommendations by the Local Government Reform Commission in July 2007, the LGA absorbed part of the former Shire of Taroom in March 2008. It takes its name from the burial site of a bullock fondly known as "Banana".

With the town of Biloela as Council Seat, the Shire of Banana is represented in the Legislative Assembly of Queensland by the Electoral District of Callide, and by the Federal Division of Flynn in the Australian House of Representatives. The community's other localities include Banana, Baralaba, Cracow, Dululu, Goovigen, Jambin, Moura, Taroom, Thangool, Theodore, and Wowan.

The Shire of Banana has a number of attractions courtesy of its cultural, historical, and natural heritage. Popular events and tours in the Local Government Area include Adventure Avenues, Discovery Drive Trail, Explore Drive, Lake Callide Family Fishing Camp, Musical Mountain Trek, National Tractor Trek, Pioneers Ghost Trail, Queensland Heritage Rally, The Bush Escape Route, and The Sunshine Tour.

Bought to you by the Banana Tourism Directory
is your business Listed?